Feb 19, 2019

Takahe Short Story Competition

  • Crimson Education
  • NZ
Specialist Essay Editing Competition Skill Building Other


The Takahe Short Story Competition is held annually by the Takahe magazine for the chance to win cash prizes and publication online in takahē 96 (August 2019). Nod Ghosh will be the judge for 2019, an acclaimed writer whose publications include the novella-in flash 'The Crazed Wind' (Truth Serum Press), and inclusion in Landfall, JAAM, and Takahē.

Participants submit short stories of a maximum length of 2,500 words for First Prize of $250 and Second Prize $100. The Takahē also holds a separate competition for poets, in which competitors receive the Takahē Monica Taylor Poetry Prize.

Past winners of the Takahe Short Story Competition include Ruth Hanover, with 'The Tent' in 2017, and Robyn Maree Pickens, with 'This house' in 2018.

For further information visit the official website at http://www.takahe.org.nz/competitions/

Type of Opportunity

Extracurricular Activity

Age Range




Anyone can enter

Participation Cost


Entry Fee 10 NZD

Minimum Technical Skill Needed


Short story writing skills required.

Time Commitment


Short story submission

Application Deadline

Entries submitted by March 31, 2019

Application Process Includes

Entries emailed to comps@takahe.org.nz or sent to

Takahē Short Story Competition
PO Box 13-335
Christchurch 8141
New Zealand