Feb 19, 2019

Manchester Writing Competition

  • Crimson Education
  • Worldwide
Specialist Essay Editing Competition Skill Building


The Manchester Writing Competition offers the biggest literary awards of the United Kingdom for unpublished work and is open to both new and established writers across the globe. The competition was established in 2008 by Poet Laureate Carol Ann Duffy to celebrate and encourage writers internationally. Submissions are judged by a panel of practising writers for the Manchester Poetry Prize for the best portfolio of poems, and the Manchester Fiction Prize for best short story.

Winners of each prize are awarded a generous cash prize of £10,000 each. Poetry prize judges for 2018 included the esteemed Gilian Clarke, Imtiaz Dharker, Carol Ann Duffy, and Adam O'Riordan. Fiction short stories for 2018 were judged by Niven Govinden, Livi Michael, Alison Moore, and Nicholas Royle. This prestigious competition offers submitting writers the exciting opportunity of sharing their work on an international platform and celebrates original unpublished work.

For further information visit the official site at https://www2.mmu.ac.uk/writingcompetition/

Type of Opportunity

Extracurricular Activity

Age Range




Both new and established writers may submit

Participation Cost


Online or postal submission

Minimum Technical Skill Needed


Poetry or fiction writing skills are required.

Time Commitment


Poetry or fiction writing

Application Deadline

To be announced for 2019

Application Process Includes

Online submission at https://www2.mmu.ac.uk/writingcompetition/ or postal submission.