Apr 10, 2019

Gaede-Preis der Deutschen Vakuum-Gesellschaft

  • Crimson Education
  • Germany
Competition Other


The Gaedepreis, donated by Dr. med. Manfred Dunkel and sponsored by Leybold GmbH in Cologne, has been awarded annually since 1986. This prize is intended to cover work from basic research, application, and process engineering in the fields of vacuum physics and technology, surface physics, materials and processes of solid-state electronics, and nanostructural sciences and technology.

The prize consists of a certificate, the model of the first molecular pump of Prof. Wolfgang Gaede and a prize of €10,000. It takes into account outstanding achievements by younger scientists who, at the time of the proposal, have not yet been offered an employment status as a university lecturer or an analogous position in a research institution or industry, and are generally not older than 40 years old. The research achievements to be awarded must be published in peer-reviewed scientific journals. In addition, reference may be made to recognized doctoral or habilitation papers or other evidence. In addition to nominations from third parties and self-applications are possible.

For more information, please visit here.

Type of Opportunity

Extracurricular Activity

Age Range

Post-graduate students



From hundreds of submissions, only 1 participant is selected as a winner.

Participation Cost


There are no costs involved in applying for this award.

Minimum Technical Skill Needed


The research carried out by participants must pertain to application and process engineering in the fields of vacuum physics and technology, thin films, surface physics, materials and processes in solid-state electronics, nanostructure sciences, and technology.

Time Commitment


The work submitted for this competition involves years of study (a written thesis).

Application Deadline

Work must be submitted the year prior to the presentation of the award. Dates for 2020 are TBA.

Application Process Includes

For the Gaedepreis, up to five publications that reflect the achievements to be awarded, a publication list, a short CV, a justification for the proposal or the self-application and any other supporting documents must be submitted in digital form on data media or by e-mail. In addition to nominations from third parties, self-nominations are also possible.