Apr 09, 2019

Gerhard Fürst Preis

  • Crimson Education
  • Germany
Competition Certification Skill Building Other


Since 1999, the Federal Statistical Office has annually awarded the Gerhard Fürst Prize in the categories dissertations and diploma or master theses (including master and bachelor theses). It is awarded to outstanding papers that either deal with theoretical topics closely related to the range of tasks of official statistics or examine the empirical issues with intensive use of data from official statistics. It can also be work from theoretical statistics or economic and social statistics as well as economics or sociological treatises.

With the Gerhard Fürst Prize, the Federal Statistical Office would like to promote the study of official statistics issues in the context of higher education and further intensify cooperation between science and official statistics. The prize was named after the first president of the Federal Statistical Office and long-time chairman of the German Statistical Society, Gerhard Fürst, who fully embodied the organizational and legal structure of official statistics in Germany after 1945, with its central cornerstones of professional concentration and scientific independence has significantly shaped.

The premium for a dissertation to be awarded is € 5,000 and for a thesis to be awarded € 2,500. In addition, the prize winners publish an article about their work in the monthly journal of the Federal Statistical Office "Economy and Statistics". The award ceremony takes place as part of the scientific colloquium organized annually in November by the Federal Statistical Office in cooperation with the German Statistical Society in Wiesbaden.

For more information, please visit here.

Type of Opportunity

Extracurricular Activity

Age Range

Tertiary students



Each year, several hundred theses are submitted for the award, and only the best six academic theses in the field of "Banking & Finance" are awarded.

Participation Cost


There are no associated costs with applying for this award.

Minimum Technical Skill Needed


The work was judged by a jury composed of representatives from industry and practice. Assessment criteria are in particular structure and methodology, originality of the approach, timeliness of the topic, the practical relevance of the work as well as personal contribution.

Time Commitment


The work submitted for this competition involves several years of study (bachelors or masters thesis).

Application Deadline

Submissions can be made until the end of December, each year. The documents should be received by post by the beginning of January, the following year.

Application Process Includes

To apply for the Career Award of the DZ BANK Group, register under "My Career Award". There you enter all the data for the application, then print out the completed application form and sign it. You must then send the application form along with all other documents (hardcover and digital graduation work, printed and digital abstract, and curriculum vitae) via the post.